The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

Weekly Reading Review July 12, 2013

Filed under: Books,Weekly Reading Review — Maura @ 2:49 pm

For my first review I’m going to include our vacation week too because I got a lot of reading done!

Completed:

The White Queen (The Cousins’ War #1) by Philippa Gregory. 4 stars. I love Gregory. I’ve loved her ever since I dove into The Other Boleyn Girl. The way she brought Elizabeth Woodville to life was spectacular!

If I Should Die (Revenants #3) by Amy Plum. 4 stars. I was introduced to this series by Mary. I am so grateful she did! Paris! Immortals! The series was amazing. My one beef with IISD is the lack of Jules. C’mon, Amy, more Jules!

Across the Universe by Beth Revis. 4 stars. Again, I was introduced by Mary. I’m serious, I go to her for a lot of recommendations! Though I will still take credit for introducing her to Twilight launching that little obsession of hers, but that’s a different story! (: Back to AtU. I loved it. Wow. SciFi isn’t always my thing, but I’m glad I gave this one a go. I mean, c’mon! Beatles song as the title AND lyrics in the beginning? Match made in heaven. Can’t wait to jump into A Million Suns!

Ladybug Girl at the Beach by David Soman. 4 stars. I got this as a treat for our beach vacation. It was very cute and my own little Ladybug smiled and cooed through the whole story. I look forward to reading the whole series with her!

Pete the Cat Rocking in My School Shoes by Eric Litwin. 4 stars. This was also a trip treat. Pete came into our lives thanks to my cat loving mom. My son fell in love and I love that he loves Pete. Giggles always ensue when I read “Does Pete worry? Goodness no!” Probably has something about the way I draw out goodness (:

Prodigy by Marie Lu. 4 stars. It had its ups and downs, but I really enjoyed this book! I wasn’t happy with the cliffhanger ending, but I am never a fan of them. I need Champion NOW!

Currently Reading
The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory. Started out much slower paced compared to TWQ, but the action is kicking up!

What to Expect the First Year by Heidi Murkoff. Just a brush up month by month with baby #2 (:

New to my shelf
Cinder by Marissa Meyer I won this in one of Mary’s giveaways. It’s signed! Can’t wait to jump in!
The Red Queen by Philippa Gregory via the library
A Million Suns by Beth Revis via the library
The Fifth Wave by Rick Yancey via the library
Matched, Crossed, Reached by Ally Condie via the library

 

Leave a Reply

