The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

Domestic Goddess Day July 24, 2013

Well… partially a domestic goddess day. I didn’t get as much done as I would’ve liked, but still had a productive day for feeling like a giant pile of poo when I woke up this morning. My morning consisted of the usual PBS lineup cuddled up with the kiddos. I did get a load of laundry going this morning, but I’ve yet to flip it. Once naptime rolled around I decided to work on the quiet books a bit more again today. I’m determined to get the majority of pages in playable order ASAP. I’ve had pieces parts together for a year and a half, but Punk hasn’t gotten to play with any of them yet. That changed today. As soon as I finished the Sock Matching Page, which is patterned off of Imagine Our Life’s design, Punk was jumping up and down in anticipation to FINALLY get to play with it. He’s been warned away from the “Ouchies” (pins) for ages and now Mama finally is letting him play with it. He very proudly matched the six sets of socks. We’re also working on naming their colours. I decided to do solid colours: red, orange, yellow, green, purple, and pink. So far he can name red and yellow, but everything else is “blue!” I also finished the Pirate page, but he hasn’t really paid it much attention yet. Think he’s too enthralled with matching socks! He also kept pulling out the Holiday House page that is completely pieced, but not finalised. Mine also isn’t set up for the LED lights. I’m doing well to sew, don’t need to throw in electrical works! I also have a solar system page, as does she, but I had designed and stitched mine before she put up hers. Mine is no where near as detailed! I also included Pluto, cause I can. (:

I still have a stack of pages to finish and pair together, some of them I’m considering completely redoing. But I’m happy with the work I got accomplished today. I’ve missed sewing! I did snap three needles though. >.< Was NOT happy with that. One of the downers of working with the stiff pellon. Multiple layers are murder on needles! I've stopped for the evening to enjoy a bit of downtime with the hubby and kiddos.

We did leftovers for dinner tonight, but last night I made this: Steak and Guinness Pie. It’s something my family had while we were in Ireland back in 1999. My mom found a recipe for it when we got home and it’s been an occasional treat ever since! I do alter a few things though, if you’re interested feel free to ask! I must’ve had a mother’s intuition on knowing the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge would be welcoming little Prince Cambridge when I planned it for this week. Must’ve been in a mama sense – European mood (;

Trying to decide if I’m going to do a book review this week and if it’s going to be over the trilogy as a whole or just one. Either way, I have to finish the third book first so I can decide. Enough blogging tonight. I have a toddler who is begging to be tickled by pouncing on my back continuously while I lie and type! After sufficient tickles it’ll be back to reading Reached by Ally Condie and watching The Hunger Games! (: Just a casual night for this mama!

 

Leave a Reply

