The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

Hello August, Goodbye July! August 1, 2013

Hello, Goodbye

Hello, August! I still can’t believe it’s already August. I feel like July just started and we were at the beach! We’ve been back in our house for almost a full month, but the kitchen still isn’t 100% finished. It’s functional, though, so we’re dealing. July was a very busy month in our house, and August is looking to be just as busy. I was hoping to start some preschool things this month, but with the kitchen remodel, the office has been neglected. I now aim to start the first week of September! (If I start before that, great, September is the ultimate start date goal!)

We had a pretty busy reading month. The kiddos and I are starting to get back in our routine of going to the library twice a week. Since Punk spent this past weekend with my step-dad, we didn’t read our weekend books, so we’ll just be going once this week. Which is okay, no need to go to the library when we have a full checkout list and none of them have been finished! For me, I read some great books and I read some mediocre books. With the kids, we read some good books. I’ve greatly enjoyed getting into blogging, and hope that each month gets better. I currently have two reviews planned to be coming soon, one was already planned, one got added today. I’m thinking of adding a few more, depends on how reading this month goes. I may even randomly decide to do one of the kids’ books!

Books I read in July (in order of completion):
Beth Revis – Across the Universe
Marie Lu – Prodigy
Philippa Gregory – The Red Queen see my review here
Ally Condie – Matched
Ally Condie – Crossed
Marissa Meyer – Cinder see my review here

The kids and I read twenty new books this month. If you are interested in our list, feel free to check out my 2013 Challenge list on Goodreads! We read so many books a week, it’s too many to post a giant list each month. I will keep posting our weekly reads in my wrap ups though! You can also see them there.

I finished a few quiet book pages this month, and I’m very pleased with that. I hope that I can finish a few more this month. I would like to get all of the ones I’ve started completed because I have a list a mile long on new ones I want to do as well. A few of the completed ones I think I may redo.

July, you were a good month, with a great vacation getaway with the hubby’s family, full of reading great new books, and as always, time with my wonderful family. Thanks for the memories, and here’s to a wonderful August!

Coming in August

  • Hubby’s annual training with the Army National Guard
  • Hubby’s birthday
  • One of my best friends’ birthdays
  • The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones movie release
  • Prepping for my first 5k in September!
  • One of my nephews’ birthdays

 

Just realised that tomorrow, our first deployment ended three years ago! How time flies! Some days it feels like deployment ended yesterday, and here we are two kids and a house purchase later!

What were your favourite things in July? What are you looking forward to in August?

 

Leave a Reply

