The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

Weekly Reading Review #4 August 3, 2013

27 July 2013 through 3 August 2013

This has been a light reading week for me. We were getting ready for my hubby’s three week long military training so there was lots of house straightening and laundry to be done. Our kitchen still isn’t finished, but everything has now been moved back into the kitchen. This week also brought about a big decision that I wanted to be serious about this review blog. I’m not coming into it thinking I will make any money, just that I genuinely want to help spread the word about great books (and occasionally a recipe or craft tidbit too!) And since I have decided to be serious about it, I joined NetGalley and Edelweiss to request ARC/DRC books. I’m new to this and hope that I will be able to look forward to some good reads! I’ve already been approved for two books by the publishers, and two others the publisher had available to download directly without approval. I’m excited to jump into them! Keep an eye out for their reviews! On that note, here’s this week’s wrap up!

Completed:
Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Read to the kiddos:
A Swim Through the Sea by Kristin Joy Pratt, 4 stars. This book was fantastic! My son is OBSESSED with Nemo and when I saw a clownfish on the front while we were at the library, I knew it must be borrowed. The drawings, which were done by the artist at 16, were spectacular! I also loved that this was an ABC book which we are currently starting to work on.
Elmo Says… by Sarah Albee, 3 stars
Good Night, Magic Fireflies by Erica Maese, 3 stars
Baby Bear, Baby Bear, What Do You See? by Bill Martin Jr. and Eric Carle, 4 stars
How Do Dinosaurs Clean Their Rooms? by Jane Yolen, 3 stars
Panda Bear, Panda Bear, What Do You See? by Bill Martin Jr. and Eric Carle, 4 stars.
Whose Nose Is this? A Look at Beaks, Snouts, and Trunks by Peg Hall, 3 stars
The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle, 4 stars. We have a Very Hungry Caterpillar crawl here in our city, and I thought I might take the kiddos around on it after we read it. Naps have been taken and I’m almost caught up on what I need to do today, so as long as the weather hold I believe we’ll go!

Currently Reading:
Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
Reached by Ally Condie
What to Expect the First Year by Heidi Murkoff
A Million Suns by Beth Revis, I believe I’ll be restarting this since I’m only about 40 pages in and haven’t read any in about a week.

New to my shelf:
DRC of I, Saul by Jerry B. Jenkins and James MacDonald via Worthy Publishing
DRC of In Defense of the Queen by Michelle Diener via Season Publishing
DRC of Into the Dark #1 Shadow Prince by Bree Despain via EgmontUSA
DRC of White Space by Ilsa Black via EgmontUSA

 

Leave a Reply

