The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

*Review* Everneath by Brodi Ashton August 23, 2013

Rating: 5 stars
Pub date: 2012
Publisher: HarperCollins/ Balzer + Bray
Genre: YA, Mythology, Romance, Fantasy
Format: paperback, obtained from the Public Library

Summary:
Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath. Now she’s returned—to her old life, her family, her boyfriend—before she’s banished back to the underworld . . . this time forever. She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can’t find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.

Nikki longs to spend these precious months forgetting the Everneath and trying to reconnect with her boyfriend, Jack, the person most devastated by her disappearance—and the one person she loves more than anything. But there’s just one problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who enticed her to the Everneath in the first place, has followed Nikki home. Cole wants to take over the throne in the underworld and is convinced Nikki is the key to making it happen. And he’ll do whatever it takes to bring her back, this time as his queen.

As Nikki’s time on the Surface draws to a close and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she is forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole’s queen.

Everneath is a captivating story of love, loss, and immortality from debut author Brodi Ashton.

Oh wow. All the feels for sure with this one! I could hardly put this one down. I am a HUGE fan of Greek mythology so when this came recommended and I looked into it, I immediately requested it from the library.

I’ve always been interested in the Persephone myth. Then again, anything involving Greek mythology, I’m fairly interested in. Some more than others. I have a statue of Artemis on my desk that I bought in Greece. I LOVE Artemis.

I’ve always found the thought of immortality intriguing. Cultures around the world have different myths about the search for immortality. Various creatures have obtained immortality.

From page one, Ashton pulled me into this new telling of an old myth. The Greek underworld is called the Everneath. There are the Everlivings (the immortals) and the Shades. We are soon introduced to Cole who is the Everliving with the claim over Nikki Beckett who is his Forefeit. It starts with her last moments in the Everneath before she Returns to the Surface. I was immediately curious about what could possibly drive a 17 year old to want to give up everything to have her emotions drained from her. I’ve had my fair share of struggles with depression. It started when my parents divorced when I was in 8th grade and I’ve struggled with it ever since. The worst it got is when it went from depression to full blown horrendous postpartum depression after my son was born. I was consumed with all of the “bad” emotions. I cried all the time, I didn’t want to get out of bed, I didn’t want to hear my baby cry. It was a dark, dark time in my life. I didn’t want to feel anything anymore. Finally, once I was close to being pushed over the edge of getting on my own nerves with my overly caustic sarcasm, I asked for help. I’m not sure what I would’ve done if I’d been in Becks’ place. Would I have asked to have the pain taken away or would I have sought out the help I did.

Becks’ struggle to regain control of her emotions felt very similar to my struggle to balance my emotions as I adjusted to my antidepressant. It took a while for things to balance out. For me, it was a matter of weeks compared to Becks’ months.

I admire Becks’ strength to return even though she knew she was facing leaving again and for good this time. I would probably do the same. Just to see my family and friends one last time. It’s not a thought I like, but I have letters written to my two children and my husband in the event something ever happens to me. I would want them to have something to always remind them of my love. Leaving our loved ones is never an easy thought, and being constantly reminded that you’re a ticking time bomb wouldn’t make it any easier.

I loved the relationship between Jack and Becks. I loved that they were friends before they gave their relationship a chance to develop into something deeper. It’s a refreshing change from the puppy love that is in a lot of YA. I had a relationship like this in HS, but the result was not as good as Jack and Becks. We realised we were better as friends and nothing more. Their struggle to understand what happened to their relationship and to rebuild it, was amazing. Despite having undeniable facts thrown in his face, Jack kept coming back trying to help Becks. Definitely a true love relationship.

I thought it was very interesting having the before the Feed and after the Return aspect of the story. It let us see what led Becks to her decision to go to the Everneath with Cole. It let us see the consequences of that choice. It was a constant reminder that even if we try to run a way from something, it doesn’t just effect us, it effects everyone around us. Jack suffered the most by Becks’ disappearance. Even though he was destroyed by her leaving, he was willing to understand and work through her Return.

The ending. Whoa. All sorts of feels. For about the last 40 pages I went from tearing up to all out bawling. True love wins out. Such a sacrifice. Wow. I’m still in awe and shock. I can’t wait to see where Neverfall and Everbound take Jack, Becks, and Cole!

Funny side note: While I was reading this, my baby girl kept trying to swipe the book from me. It became her inspiration to “creep” across the bed to get it. If I put it down, she was after it. What can I say? Kid’s got good taste in books already! (:
Recommended for: Lovers of mythology retellings, immortality, quests for redemption, and a bit of romance
Not recommended for: Those who dislike fantasy or think the immortality thing has been played out.

 

3 Responses to “*Review* Everneath by Brodi Ashton”

  1. 🙂 I’m really glad you liked this one. Great review, as always!

  2. […] loved Brodi Ashton’s Everneath trilogy. My reviews for Everneath, Everbound, and Evertrue. I loved her writing style, and was eagerly awaiting something new. […]


Leave a Reply

