The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

Parajunkee’s Feature Friday: Featured Blogger August 29, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Maura @ 9:00 pm

featuredbloggerFrom Parajunkee’s page:

How does this work? The goal is to increase blog followers and make friends. First you leave your name here on this post, (using the linky tools — keep scrolling!) then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them “hi” in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

 

 

That being said, I am happy to say I was selected to be a feature for today! I’m super excited since I’m just getting started.

When did you start blogging?

I started this blog back in the fall of 2011. Originally, I intended to do a blog inspired by Julie and Julia, but that never really happened. I had a newborn to take care of, my hubby had a travel job, and cooking for one just isn’t fun. A few other failed ventures and I finally found my niche in book blogging this summer. Haven’t looked back!

What is your favourite part of book blogging?

I’d have to say that my favourite part of book blogging so far is getting connected with so many new people and hearing about so many great books!

What type of books do you mainly blog about?

I haven’t gotten many reviews up yet, but I will (probably) be mainly blogging about YA books with a few adult novels thrown in too. I’m in my mid 20s, so I’m in that realm between two book worlds. YA will always have a special place in my heart though! I doubt I will ever stop reading it.

What is your favourite book(s)?

This is a toughie! I’m always drawn to say Harry Potter, because that is what launched my continuous love of reading, but I’ve read so many great books over the years. I’ll go with my favourite book to read to my kiddos – Love you Forever.

What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?

The best thing so far that has happened to me is getting the opportunity to read and review books before they are released. I’ve always dreamed about having a chance to do that, and it’s coming true!

 

***This week’s question is: If you could only have ONE – one book – for the rest of your life. Don’t cheat… what would it be?***

This will be a bit out of the ordinary for me, but I would have to choose the Bible. I’ve always wanted to read all of it, and I can’t think of a better book to be “stuck” with and read over and over. My great-grandfather read it cover to cover several times and was one of the best men I’ve ever known. I would like to read it through at least once before I die.

****

Thanks for dropping by to my small bit of the reading/blogging universe. I prefer to be followed on Bloglovin’ or by email for my blog, and you’re always welcome to follow me on Twitter! (@armywife2310) Thanks, Parajunkee for this opportunity!

Have a great day and a great Labour Day weekend! (:

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

80 Responses to “Parajunkee’s Feature Friday: Featured Blogger”

  1. Hopping through. Can’t go wrong with the Bible. Inspiring. And even better for these purposes – long.
    My Hop

  2. Jackie Says:

    Hey girl! Congrats on being featured(:
    Come on over and check out mine: http://www.nobentspines.blogspot.com/2013/08/feature-follow_29.html

    ~Jackie

  3. Marilyn Says:

    i remember reading the bible in high school. It’s an interesting choice.

    New Follower via Bloglovin

    My FF Marilyn @ Marilyn’s Mystery Blog

    • Maura Says:

      I’ve started it numerous times, but have never finished it. The Old Testament is my downfall. I’ve read the New Testament numerous times.Thanks for stopping by and following!

  4. Kimber Leigh Wheaton Says:

    Congrats on the feature! The Bible is an interesting choice. As long as it is, you wouldn’t get bored quickly 🙂
    New Bloglovin follower.

    Kimber Leigh @ Once Upon a YA Book

  5. Oh, now I feel like a terrible person haha. I would like to have the Bible as well, but I chose a different book 🙂 Congrats on your feature! New follower on BlogLovin

    http://ramblingsonreadings.blogspot.com/2013/08/feature-and-follow-5.html

    • Maura Says:

      Thanks for stopping by and following! I mulled it over for a bit and that’s the only book I could come up with that I new I could never get exhausted with since there are so many different ways to study it. I’ll check yours out too!

  6. I almost picked the Bible as well 🙂 I haven’t read it all the way through yet but I suppose if I didn’t have other books to distract me, I might actually finish it. It’d certainly keep me busy and a worthwhile goal. New bloglovin follower, nice to meet you!

    http://momssmallvictories.com/feature-follow-the-book-thief-stole-my-heart/

    • Maura Says:

      Nice to meet you too! Thanks for stopping by and following! I’ll be sure to check yours out too. That’s how I feel about it too. I always get started then distracted.

  7. Summer Ross Says:

    I’m a new follower via Blogloving, but I’m blogging under a pen name- Decadent Kane-
    My Blog

  8. I wanted to say the Bible, but I’m afraid I’m too shallow to actually pick it… which is probably why I need to read it completely. I’ve attempted it several times, but then I fail. Maybe I’ll go ahead and try again!

    New follower thru Bloglovin
    My FF

  9. Kris Says:

    Good choice. Congrats on the Feature. New Bloglovin’ Follower.

    My Feature Follow

  10. Congrats on being featured! I chose the Bible too (but then added in a second choice for good measure). I’m a new follower via Bloglovin’!

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

  11. Nodame Says:

    Hi, Maura! Congrats on being featured. Hopping through.
    FF

  12. Nice to meet you Maura and congratulations on being one of this week’s features! 🙂

    The bible is a great pick. It’s a book that you can dip into or sit and read for hours depending on your mood.

    New bloglovin’ follower.

    My FF post

  13. Heey
    Congrats on being a feature! I’ve only read parts of the Bible, but this is definitely a good answer. There’s so much there to read! Hope you have a good weekend 🙂
    My Friday post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

  14. That was interesting,but of course it’s a good choice. New Follower via Twitter.
    Booker Like a Hooker – Here’s my answer.

  15. mich Says:

    nice answer,visiting for Follow Friday
    hope you can visit my FF

  16. DanaSquare Says:

    Congrats on being featured! I followed via Bloglovin DanaSquare! My FF post @DanaSquare

  17. It’s certainly an inspirational read. Great choice.

    New follower via bloglovin’

    Linsey @ mybooksnthings.com

  18. Julie S. Says:

    Yay for finally finding your way to book blogging. 🙂 I have a personal blog too and this spring started a book blog, so I totally understand finding it and going yes!

    New follower.
    Julie @ Chapter Break

    • Maura Says:

      Thanks! I don’t know why I never thought about it. Reading was my first love, writing was my second. Thanks for stopping by and for following! Can’t wait to give your blog a look.

  19. Amber H. Says:

    Didn’t even think to pick the Bible! Great choice! Congrats on the feature!

    New follower via bloglovin!

    Here’s my FF

    Amber @Paradise of Pages

  20. Caitlin Says:

    Congrats on being featured– an interesting choice, didn’t think about that one!

    New Follower via Bloglovin’ 🙂

    ~Caitlin @ The Y.A. Bookworm Blogger
    My FF

  21. I too have never read the bible. Congrats on being the Featured Blog.

    My FF http://hbbookhotties.blogspot.com/2013/08/feature-and-follow-5-aug-30.html

    First time follower

    Syreeta

  22. Daisy Says:

    Congrats on the feature. I have read different parts of the bible but never the entire thing front to back. Makes me feel hesitant to share My answer but here it is anyway 🙂

    • Maura Says:

      Don’t feel bad about sharing your answer! I’m sure it’s great. I debated on picking the Bible. I’ve read parts of it too, all of the New Testament. Some parts I’ve read multiple times. Just never all the way through. Thanks for stopping by!

  23. Congrats on being featured today! I think the bible is an interesting choice, because there is a lot of things happening, and I know I have never read all of it.

    I’m a new Bloglovin’ follower 🙂

    Have a great weekend.

    Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews

  24. Leslie Says:

    your answer knocked me out. As a Catholic I was deeply inspired by it. My grandmother often said to me that I should not forget to read the Bible. Because it is the greatest book that ever written

    new follower. 😀

    • Maura Says:

      My Grandaddy always said the same thing! He said there isn’t a problem that can’t be solved with a little prayer and turning to the good book. (: Thanks for dropping by and following!

  25. LisaILJ Says:

    Congrats on being featured! Sadly, I have never sat down to read the bible either. I should, but I haven’t. I really liked so many of your answers to the questions. I have my first child on the way, and I don’t know how I’m going to handle the blog and a newborn. Or if I will be able to handle it at all. New follower via RSS.

    • Maura Says:

      Thanks for dropping by and following! It’ll take some adjusting in the beginning. I’m slowly learning to juggle with two kids. (Toddler and baby). Just take a step back and go a day at a time. That’s all you can do in any situation with kiddos! (:

  26. Congrats on being a featured blogger this week!

    I share the same book choice for today. Come check out my reasoning!
    New twitter follower.
    Holly @ Words Fueled by Love

  27. Congratz on being featured! 🙂

    New Follower via Bloglovin’

    Nyx @ Unraveling Words

  28. I thought about choosing the bible too. I also thought about maybe choosing a Writing for Dummies book or something like that so I could write my own stories and beat the system, but I figured that would be cheating! New follower with Bloglovin’. Stop by and check out my pick!
    Tanya @ Rantings of a Reading Addict

  29. Brenda Says:

    Well, you definitely won’t run out of stories if you choose the Bible! New Twitter follower here!

    Brenda@ Daily Mayo.

  30. bookcupid Says:

    Congrats on being featured. Lovely answer. it is truly a good book. New bloglovin follower.

  31. Tina Says:

    Great answer! I’ve always wanted to read the Bible too – I’m not very religious, so Its usually the last thing on my mind to read, but I think If i were stuck with one book forever, that would probably be a really good one. (:

    My FF

    Tina @ Pages of Comfort – new follower via bloglovin!

  32. I have read some of the Bible. I went to a catholic college and when I was bored in theology class i would read. It’s interesting for sure

  33. Congrats on being featured! My favorite part of blogging is all the people I’ve met too. Great book choice, I’ve thought about reading it many times as well. New Bloglovin Follower 🙂

  34. Chris Says:

    Congrats on being the feature this week. Looking forward to checking out the rest of your blog.

    New follower on bloglovin, you can check me out at brunnersbookshelf.blogspot.com

  35. Congrats on being featured. The Bible to some people is the best book ever written good choice. I’m following you by email and through blog lovin. Have a good weekend!

    Here’s my post:

    http://mymidnightfantasies.blogspot.com/2013/08/feature-follow-8.html

  36. Lisa Mandina Says:

    Congrats on being the featured blogger this week! I’m a new Bloglovin follower.
    Check out my FF

  37. Congrats on being featured. New Blog loving Follower. I picked a different book but yours is a great choice.

    my FF – http://reneeentress.blogspot.com

  38. Congrats on the feature. That is an interesting choice of book! I love getting to meet new people through blogging, it is awesome. 😉 Have a awesome weekend!

    New follower via bloglovin
    My F&F
    Whit@Whit’s Book World

  39. Laura Says:

    It must be so nice to be featured! Congrats! New follower via Bloglovin!
    Laura

  40. Greg Says:

    Love that answer…the Bible, great choice! Congrats on being featured!!

  41. Greg Says:

    Congrats on being featured! Also cannot go wrong with your book. New follower via Bloglovin’. Stop by if you get a chance. My http://blogtheeclectic.blogspot.com/2013/08/feature-and-follow-one-book-for-rest-of.html

  42. Congrats on being this week’s Feature! And your choice for your ONE book is a good one! 🙂

    I’m a new follower via BL. Enjoy your weekend!

  43. Would definitely keep you interested! Congrats on the feature! New Bloglovin follower.

  44. That is a great answer. I am ashamed that I didn’t choose the Bible too but as much as I love my Bible I didn’t even think along those lines. I was thinking Fiction. I have read my Bible through several times and there’s nothing like it. I hope you get the chance to accomplish your goal!

    New follower via Bloglovin’. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Wanda @ A Book Lover’s Retreat

  45. Great answer!
    You have a great site and I’m a new follower.
    The Book Cove

  46. […] am so honoured to be a featured blogger for Feature & Follow! I was featured almost a year ago, just after I started blogging. I always forget to participate, so hopefully […]


Leave a Reply

