The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

Hello September, Goodbye August September 1, 2013

 

Another month down. I can’t believe September is already here. This year has been flying by! The recent loss of one of my junior high teachers really makes his words ring true years down the road. On the last day of 6th grade, Mr. Church looked at us and said, “If you think this year went by quickly, wait until the next year, and then the next. They’ll keep going by faster and faster.” He was a great man, and will be greatly missed. Those words are really true. It seems like just yesterday I found out I was expecting my little boy and now I’m a mama to two.

Picking up from last month, I’m happy to say our kitchen is FINALLY done. No more construction. We still have some organising and cleaning to do, but the bulk of the work has now been completed. I’m SO thrilled! Even though work continued into the middle of the month, it didn’t really cut into that much of my reading time. Hubby being gone for three weeks of military training DID cut into reading time. Three weeks of being a single mama. Kuddos to those parents who do the single parenting all the time. You are a true inspiration! Now, to books!

Books I read in August (in order of completion)
Glitches by Marissa Meyer (I forgot this in July)
Scarlet by Marissa Meyer
What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare
Reached by Ally Condie
A Million Suns by Beth Revis
Shades of Earth by Beth Revis
As They Slip Away by Beth Revis
The Queen’s Army by Marissa Meyer
Everneath by Brodi Ashton
Neverfall by Brodi Ashton
The Lady of the Rivers by Philippa Gregory

I was sad to finish the Across the Universe series. Check out my review if you haven’t! I was relieved to finally finish the Matched series. I struggled a lot through it. I was happy to continue the Lunar Chronicles and jump into the Everneath series! I’m anxiously awaiting Everbound from my library!

The kids and I read over 20 books again this month. Think it was closer to 30. We’re still getting back in the groove of going to the library once or twice a week. The NASCAR race was in town recently so we stocked up for the week so we didn’t have to fight the tourists. We ended up not reading many of them. Punky spent the night with my dad and DADDY came home! The kids were ecstatic! We ran out of time to record him reading some stories before he left so he’s on bedtime story duty for a while. Needless to say the kiddos really missed their daddy. We’re all very happy he’s home!

Coming up in September

  • My first e-ARC review (keep an eye out!)
  • A visit from one of our college friends
  • Phoenix Overture by Jodi Meadows! (Hubby and I now have an agreement for every week he is gone on military duty I get a new book and a bottle of wine! This is his payment for 1 of 3 he owes me for this year’s annual training)
  • (Hopefully) Punk’s second and Ladybug’s first MTSU football game!
  • A friend’s wedding
  • My first 5k
  • Beach with the hubby, kiddos, and my dad
  • Book signing event with Megan Shepherd! (keep an eye out for an event summary and a review!)

September is looking like it’ll be an action packed month! Bring it on!

 

Leave a Reply

