The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

Waiting on Wednesday #9: Banquet of Lies October 9, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Maura @ 6:00 pm

 

 

 

 

“Waiting on Wednesday” is a weekly event hosted by Jill at the Breaking The Spine. It showcases upcoming releases we’re anticipating!

 

 

 

My pick of the week is:

 

Banquet of Lies

 by Michelle Diener

 

 Coming: 22 October 2013

 

 Publisher: Gallery Books

 

 

 

Summary

LONDON, 1812: Giselle Barrington is living a double life, juggling the duties of chef with those of spy catcher. She must identify her father’s savage killer before the shadowy man finds her and uncovers the explosive political document her father entrusted to her safekeeping.

Posing as a French cook in the home of Lord Aldridge, Giselle is surrounded by unlikely allies and vicious enemies. In the streets where she once walked freely among polite society, she now hides in plain sight, learning the hard lessons of class distinction and negotiating the delicate balance between servant and master.

Lord Aldridge’s insatiable curiosity about his mysterious new chef blurs the line between civic duty and outright desire. Carefully watching Giselle’s every move, he undertakes a mission to figure out who she really is—and, in the process, plunges her straight into the heart of danger when her only hope for survival is to remain invisible.

Why I’m excited
I first discovered Michelle’s writing when I was approved for a DRC of In Defense of the Queen. I hadn’t even finished it yet and when I saw that Banquet of Lies had been added, I knew I had to try for it too! Michelle is a fantastic wordsmith. I’m instantly transported to the time she’s writing about and it’s amazing. I love Revolutionary France and can’t wait to see how she does this one!

 

 

 

Why I need you to be excited
It’s going to be great! History and spies! Everyone loves a good spy story so come check out this one!

 

5 Responses to “Waiting on Wednesday #9: Banquet of Lies”

  1. I do love a good spy story! Lots of intense stuff goes on around spies! Haven’t heard of this one before though.

    WOW
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  2. Mary H Says:

    Funny enough, you and I both have WoW twins this week. I saw another Banquet of Lies post and another After the End. 🙂

    • Maura Says:

      Haha that’s funny! I was going to do After the End, but I have some lined up that HAVE to go in order the next few weeks otherwise they’ll be up AFTER release lol. So it’ll be up in a few weeks.

      • Yup, I know that feeling. I’ve had to delete some of my planned WoWs because other books came up and claimed priority. I figure, we’re all waiting on books like Allegiant and Champion and the like.


Leave a Reply

