The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

*e-ARC review* Seven Day Fiance by Rachel Harris October 14, 2013

I was granted a digital review copy of Seven Day Fiancé by the publisher (Entangled: Bliss) and author (Rachel Harris) in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 5 stars
Pub Date: 14 October 2013
Publisher: Entangled: Bliss
Genre: New Adult, Romance
Format: e-ARC
Type: Book 2 of the Love and Games series

Summary:
Angelle Prejean is in a pickle. Her family is expecting her to come home with a fiancé—a fiancé who doesn’t exist. Well, he exists, but he definitely has no idea Angelle told her mama they were engaged. Tattooed, muscled, and hotter than sin, Cane can reduce Angelle to a hot mess with one look—and leave her heart a mess if she falls for him. But when she ends up winning Cane at a charity bachelor auction, she knows just how to solve her fiancé problem.

Cane Robicheaux is no one’s prince. He doesn’t do relationships and he doesn’t fall in love. When sweet, sultry-voiced Angelle propositions him, he hopes their little game can finally get her out of his head. He doesn’t expect her to break through all his barriers. But even as Angelle burrows deeper into his heart, he knows once their seven days are up, so is their ruse.

My thoughts:
I loved every single page of SDF. I would recommend it to anyone who loves a good romance. Especially these movies: The Proposal, The Wedding Date, or Sweet Home Alabama. I swear this is a good mix of all of them! I also loved being in the Cajun world for a while. I love New Orleans (it’s where I got married) and being in this area for a while was a nice escape. (Even if I did read this while sitting on the beach in South Carolina which was already an escape!) There’s ONE scene (you’ll know it when you get to it!) that made me feel like I needed a dunk in the ocean AND a freezing shower. Shew! Extra steamy! And the ending! It was perfection! It was extremely swoon worthy. The epilogue is nice, too. (: All five stars were well deserved. Rachel takes an “old story” (fake fiancé) and takes it places it could never have imagined!

Angelle was a very relatable character for me. I come from a small town, though not as small as Angelle. The reaction she gets when she returns home could be compared to when Jason Witten comes home. (He went to my high school and hosts a massive football camp every year and is a HUGE hometown hero.) I never could imagine being in her situation as far as making up a fiancé. On the flip side though, that’s about how long my engagement to my hubby was. I actually teased Rachel on Twitter when she first started tweeting about SDF if she was writing about mine and hubby’s relationship. As I was reading, I kept imagining Angelle sounded like Reese Witherspoon in Sweet Home Alabama.

Cane. Oh wow. Where do I even begin with this deliciousness? He’s such an incredible guy and it was so nice to learn about him as he carefully let Angelle see each level of himself. I could relate to him on his parental situation. My parents divorced when I was in junior high and I built walls around my heart. I was very against marriage for the long haul. I didn’t want to be destroyed the way my parents were. The way Cane was. The way Angelle walks right through all of his barriers was like reliving when my hubby and I first started dating. I fell in love with Cane right from the beginning. Who wouldn’t love a man who goes out of his way to help out the women in his life? I feel even more in love with him when he was so great with Angelle’s little niece. Major points.  See excerpt:

“Cane pushed to his feet. ‘Actually, if you don’t mind, I was thinking I’d run to the store up the road and cook dinner.’ He glanced down and said, ‘That is, if I can find me a chef’s helper.’
Sadie climbed to a standing position on the sofa and thrust her had in the air. ‘Me! Me, Mr. Cane! Mama says I’m a great cheff-er, don’t ya, Mama?’
Eva nodded with a smile. ‘She’s the best.’
‘Is that right?’ Cane sunk to his knees so they were eyelevel. ‘Must be my lucky day. Do you know I happen to own a restaurant? Maybe one day you can come and work for me. What do you think about that?’
Sadie shook her head solemnly. ‘Thanks, but I’m gonna be a fairy princess and live in Disney World.’
Cane grinned. ‘That does sound like more fun.’”

I mean, really? What woman doesn’t love a man who is great with kids?!

And of course. My favourite line from the whole book by Cane: “’Is today an anniversary of a first of something I’m forgetting? If so, I’m sorry darlin’. Men have crap for brains when it comes to that kind of stuff.’”

Isn’t that quote just the truth, ladies? Five years later and my hubby STILL has trouble remembering what year I was born. He gets the day mixed up every now and then, too. Of course, this is when asked. If he ever actually forgets it, he better be prepared to cough up lots of chocolate, wine, and books! (: Same goes for our anniversary!

 

5 Responses to “*e-ARC review* Seven Day Fiance by Rachel Harris”

  1. Tee hee. Girl, this review had me cracking up! Thanks SO much for reading and helping me celebrate my book birthday, today. The movie references are spot on, and I think that is how I will celebrate tonight. Movie marathon 😉

    I adore you!
    xoxo
    Rachel

  2. Maura Says:

    I adore you too! (: Thanks for inviting me to read this early!! I loved it so much! (Not as much as I love you, though!) That sounds like an excellent way to celebrate! (: Now back to reading MSSSC! (:

  3. Took the words outta my mouth. I SO was thinking Proposal and Wedding Date (“I’d like you ask your permission to date your daughter.” “I thought you already were…”). Lovely review, Maura!

    • Maura Says:

      Thanks! (: I think I like this review style better than book report style. And I LOVE that part in Wedding Date! Even though I own it, I watch it EVERY SINGLE TIME it is on TV lol.

  4. […] Rachel Harris! Not only does Accidentally Married on Purpose release today (for 99 cents!) but Seven Day Fiance is on sale too (also 99 cents)! It’s a big day for Rachel, so make sure you leave her some […]


Leave a Reply

