The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

Top Ten Tuesday #15: Forced to Read Books October 15, 2013

Filed under: Books,Top Ten Tuesday — Maura @ 12:00 am

Each week, the girls over at The Broke and the Bookish think up a fun theme for the week and participating bloggers around the net join in. The theme for this week is:

Top Ten Forced to Read Books

All of these but one were read during school (junior to senior high).

1. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by JK Rowling. I got this for Christmas in 1999. My uncle lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico and I always got super awesome gifts. Until ’99. Then I got the first two Harry Potter books. After much persuasion and blackmail from my Gran, I cracked and gave in to give it a try. Never looked back!

2. The Crucible by Arthur Miller. Now, I have a confession. I read this for fun the first time. I was BIG into Harry Potter fan fiction when I was younger. This was performed in one and from the clips added in, I wanted to read the whole thing. I was an eighth grader. I understood the background. Both Salem and Communism. My eighth grade English teacher was blown away. (Forced to read it Junior year and still loved it!)

3. Macbeth by Shakespeare. OUT OUT DAMNED SPOT! I love me some Lady Macbeth! (: Something wicked this way comes!

4. Canterbury Tales by Chaucer. We didn’t read all of them senior year in English, but I finished them on my own. LOVE!

5. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. Definitely one of my favourite reads my sophomore year. Once I knock down my TBR, I think I may have to re-read. It’s been too long!

6. 1984 by George Orwell. Another sophomore read. I didn’t love it as much as F451, but it was still a good one!

7. Le Petit Prince (The Little Prince) by Antoine de Saint-Exupery. We translated this in French 3/4. I love it in English AND French. I read it to my son chapter by chapter as his night time story a year ago. Need to read it now for him AND my daughter! Such a beautiful story!

8. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. Um, do I really need to explain this one?

9. Hamlet by Shakespeare. Love the play and love Kenneth Branagh as Hamlet!

10. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Just for you, Mary! I LOVE Scout. This is definitely one of my all time favourite books. We read it in eighth grade and then saw the play.

What are your favourite books you had to read? Feel free to leave your link and I’ll check yours out!

 

5 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday #15: Forced to Read Books”

  1. Ugh. I’m sorry, I just never could get into TKAM. I know that makes me a weirdo.

  2. Tina Says:

    I loved HP! And I’ve been wanting to read the Little Prince for a while too! I wish I had read it during my french classes in high school because I don’t remember much of the language now. But I’ll just get the English version 🙂 Many good books on this list!

    • Maura Says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I love Little Prince in English AND French. (I still struggle reading the French. I try to skim it to keep up practice). You might be surprised how much you remember! (:

  3. Anna Says:

    Not a fan of Canterbury Tales and I haven’t read 1984 or The Little Prince. But I love all the other books on your list! 🙂 I especially like To Kill A Mockingbird, but didn’t read it in school. I read it on my own for exactly that reason! LOL

    My TTT:

    http://diamondinroughcoal.blogspot.com/2013/10/top-ten-tuesday-12-top-ten-books-i-was.html


Leave a Reply

