The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

*Review* My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century by Rachel Harris November 3, 2013

Rating:  4 stars
Pub date: 18 September 2012
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Format:paperback, via library
Status: Book one of the My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century series

Summary:

On the precipice of her sixteenth birthday, the last thing lone wolf Cat Crawford wants is an extravagant gala thrown by her bubbly stepmother and well-meaning father. So even though Cat knows the family’s trip to Florence, Italy, is a peace offering, she embraces the magical city and all it offers. But when her curiosity leads her to an unusual gypsy tent, she exits . . . right into Renaissance Firenze.

Thrust into the sixteenth century armed with only a backpack full of contraband future items, Cat joins up with her ancestors, the sweet Alessandra and protective Cipriano, and soon falls for the gorgeous aspiring artist Lorenzo. But when the much-older Niccolo starts sniffing around, Cat realizes that an unwanted birthday party is nothing compared to an unwanted suitor full of creeptastic amore. Can she find her way back to modern times before her Italian adventure turns into an Italian forever?

My thoughts:

I first came across MSSSC hen Mary posted about it with a picture. Based off the cover and title, I remarked that it looked like it could be epically fantastic or one helluva flop. It definitely was the former!

This was my first YA novel by Rachel. I reviewed Seven Day Fiance for her and knew I had to bump up MSSSC on the TBR list. I’m so glad I did! I’ve read a lot of books taking place around the world, but not many have made me miss the country like Rachel made me miss Italy. I’ve never been to Florence (I hope to go one day!), but the way Cat reacts to Florence is totally how 18 year old Maura reacted to Rome! I still need to go back through my pictures. *sigh* THAT was a trip of a lifetime!

I can relate a lot to Cat. Only I was a loner type with a few close friends instead of a complete loner. My parents are divorced and I built walls up to protect myself. For more details on how those walls were torn down check out my Seven Day Fiance review! (:

I think it’d be interesting to walk out a door into a different time period. Not sure I can say I want to go to the 16th century though. I like modern medicinal practices! (:

“Caterina, a great adventure is in store for you.”

That’s definitely the case for Cat! I’m interested in knowing what my ancestors were like and Cat actually gets to experience it!

Not only does she meet her family, she falls for the ultimate 16th century hottie – Lorenzo. Rachel strikes again with her swoon worthy, cold shower needing boys! (: And not just any boy, but one who is willing to give up his dreams to be with her! Thankfully, Cat doesn’t let him do that. She knew she was coming back to the future and she knew he wouldn’t be happy if he have up his dream.

I was happy to see Cat make up with her soon to be step-mom. I think she deserves a great relationship with her! I wasn’t so sure about my step-dad when he and my mom first started dating. He and I now have a great relationship!

I have only great things to say about this! I highly recommend it! (:

 

2 Responses to “*Review* My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century by Rachel Harris”

  1. […] it just a beautiful cover?! I love her dress. It’s gorgeous. I’ve reviewed both My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century and A Tale of Two Centuries. I enjoyed both of them and I’m sure I will enjoy My Not So Super […]

  2. […] her books. The My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century series is so cute and a quick read. My reviews for My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century, A Tale of Two Centuries, and My Not So Super Sweet […]


Leave a Reply

