The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

Top Ten Tuesday #18: Book Recommendations November 19, 2013

 

 

 

 

Each week, the girls over at The Broke and the Bookish think up a fun theme for the week and participating bloggers around the net join in. The theme for this week is:

Top Ten YA Books I’m Trying to Force, I Mean, I’d Recommend to My Hubby to Read

Hubby and I have similar book tastes. He prefers audiobooks though. I’m not a fan of audiobooks for a first time read. I’ve been on him to read these since I read them the first time, or I’m trying to get him to read them with me!

1. Divergent by Veronica Roth. I’ve had this on my list for a while. Since I haven’t read it, I avoid all movie things. I like to read before I watch. Hubby hit up the trailers on IMDB the other night and watched a few for Divergent and really liked it. Now I’m trying to get him to read the trilogy with me!

2. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. Since hubby loves Supernatural, I thought he might enjoy this. He seemed interested based on the previews, so persuading is still in progress!

3. Harry Potter by JK Rowling. He’s only read the first few. I’m still trying to get him to finish the series. He’s not too enthusiastic since he’s seen the movies. Oi.

4. Incarnate by Jodi Meadows. C’mon, he had lunch with her. The LEAST he could do is now check out her books. He IS a musician after all and should enjoy that aspect!

5. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. He enjoyed the movie, but felt like he was missing out on a few things. We borrowed the audiobooks from our library and loaded them on our ipods. He’s almost done with his series and he’s said he’s starting this next. SCORE! (: I think it’s cause he liked the movie and is interested in seeing Catching Fire.

6. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare. Same reasons as #2 with a dash of history thrown in. We’re BIG history nerds in this house!

7. Legend by Marie Lu. I think he’d enjoy the military aspect that’s thrown in. I also think he’d just love it.

8. The Prophecy by Erin Albert. I think this is right up his alley. I haven’t vocally suggested this one yet, but I’m now adding it to the list. (:

9. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Pushing the history thing again. I’m really wanting him to read this with me so we can maybe go on a date and see the movie! (:

10. The Host by Stephenie Meyer. Yes, I’m actually pushing a SM book on him. I actually think he would enjoy it since it’s an entirely different level from Twilight. I need him to watch the movie too. He just needs to look the other way when I drool over Max Irons. Just sayin’!

Top Ten Books Punk and Ladybug Recommend to Other Munchkins

My munchkins are jealous of the Baby Bettys having their moment on their mama’s blog (@bookrockbetty) and want in on the fun! This is their list of their favourite books they want parents to read to their kids.

1. Pete the Cat by Eric Litwin and James Dean. Pete is a favourite character in our house! We’ve checked out every single one our library has and own several of them.

2. Go Dog Go! by Dr Seuss. I have lost count of how many times this has been read. Punk’s birthday party was a dog party this year. He still calls this Dog Dog!

3. Don’t Forget, God Bless Our Troops by Dr. Jill Biden. We haven’t actually read this one yet, but we love supporting our military and their families in this National Guard household!

4. One Foot, Two Feet by Peter Maloney. This was one of Punk’s Dolly Parton’s Imagination Library books and it’s a huge hit. Punk loves counting for Ladybug and showing her the aeroplane on each page.

5. Ladybug Girl by David Soman. I was so happy to find a series that has my baby girl’s nickname in it. It’s adorable and the kiddos love it.

6. The Tushy Book by Fran Manushkin. Hearing the kiddos giggle every time hubby or I say tushy is priceless. Definitely a kiddo giggle inducer!

7. That’s Not My… by Fiona Watt. Punk’s first book he got was That’s Not My Penguin. We’ve added to that collection and Punk and Ladybug love them all. Punk loves showing Ladybug how to touch each thing on the pages and tells her if it’s soft, scratchy, etc.

8. I’ll Follow the Moon by Stephanie Lisa Tara. Punk often finds this on my kindle and asks for it. He loves the turtles. He gets it from his Grammy.

9. Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by Bill Martin and Eric Carle. Punk LOVES this book. He cried when we returned it to the library the first time we checked it out. He now has his own copy and proudly points out each letter to Ladybug. It’s a GREAT one to expose your kids to the alphabet!

10. Love You Forever by Robert N Munsch. So this one is more my recommendation to parents. I love reading this to my babies because it’s true. It doesn’t matter how big they get, they’ll always be my babies. (:

How did you like the toss up for this week? I focus mainly on YA and a bit of New Adult & Adult, but I like throwing in the occasional kids’ focus. I do read A LOT of children’s books!

 What books would you recommend to your significant other? If you’re a parent of kiddos, what do they recommend as one of their favourites? Feel free to leave your link! I’d love to check out your posts!

 

5 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday #18: Book Recommendations”

  1. We have so many of the same books on our list this week. I also think my husband would enjoy HP. I think he’s seen one of the movies, not sure which one. I personally haven’t read HP so didn’t include it on my list. I love that you had your kids recommend books! How adorable! I’ve been loving the Baby Betty’s posts. Wish more people would include their kids. It’s such a fun idea. (I don’t have any kids or I would include mine.)

    • Maura Says:

      I’ve been trying to figure out a way to include them since we do so much reading. They’re just 2 1/2 years and 8 months old, so it’s been difficult. Decided to let them share their favourite books. (: Thanks for dropping by! (:

  2. You have some great books on the first list. I always try talking people into reading the books I love so we can discuss them. Wonderful children’s books too, one of my nephews was obsessed with Chicka Chicka Boom Boom as well.

    • Maura Says:

      I’m the same way! I also read books that were recommended to me by friends for discussion too. (: Word of mouth is a great thing! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. sarahzanekellar Says:

    I love the top ten books you’re trying to force, I mean recommended to your husband.


Leave a Reply

