The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

Top Ten Tuesday #19: Things I’m Thankful For November 26, 2013

Each week, the girls over at The Broke and the Bookish think up a fun theme for the week and participating bloggers around the net join in. The theme for this week is:

Top Ten Things I’m Thankful For

I have so much to be thankful for this time of year and everyday. These are just a small sampling. I hope everyone has a great Thanksgiving holiday! (Dummy me scheduled this and forgot to finish it, so here’s the complete one now!)

1. My faith. I am a Christian and I am so thankful for the love of Jesus Christ. I’m so thankful to live in the US where I can worship as I choose.

2. My immediate family. I am so blessed with my immediate family. On my mother’s side we currently have five generations living. It’s so wonderful. From my great-grandmother to my daughter, I am thankful for them all.

3. My extended family. I’m from a large family on my dad’s side with dozens of cousins. My in-laws are wonderful too. Being surrounded by family is always a blessing, even when up to your eyeballs in drama.

4. My friends. Stretched across the country, we may not often get to talk or hang out, but I know they’re there when I need them and they know I’m here when they need me. I love you guys!

5. My best friend, Mary. We live hundreds of miles and several states apart now, but this year has really strengthened our friendship. We were great friends in college, I only wish we’d taken better advantage of living in the same town! Thank you so much for being there for me, my Mary. Thanks for introducing me to this wonderful expanded world of reading. Thanks for recommending so many awesome books which opened a pathway to be friends with them. I love you! (:

6. My children. I know I did immediate family already, but I am in particular thankful for my children. They are such blessings. They may drive me a little batty every now and then, but what kid doesn’t do that to his or her parents every now and then? (: I love that they already love being read to. My son brings me books, my kindle, my iPod, anything that can be read and asks me to “Read, mama, please.” My only thing I hate about his love for books is chewing on them. Not just a little chew mark here or there, but GIANT GAPING HOLES. I wanted to cry when we moved the bookshelf out of their room. ): But for the good of having books for the duration of their childhoods, I did it.

7. My husband. We’ve definitely had a roller coaster ride this year. I am so thankful I have him by my side for all the ups and downs of life. Military deployments and schools, job changes, raising our children, losing family, all of it. I’m so ridiculously thankful God brought him into my life.

8. Staying at home with my kiddos. Like I said, some days they drive me batty, but I LOVE being able to stay at home with them. My mom stayed at home with me and I loved it. I never thought I would want to stay at home growing up and in college. I can’t tell you what changed my mind, but whatever it was, I’m glad it did. Money can be tight, but the memories aren’t something you can put a price tag on.

9. Wonderful authors who treat readers like we’re their friends, not just crazy fans. Being able to talk to an author about something in particular about his or her book is incredible! Just chatting to see how days are going, how characters are treating them, or how they’re treating characters (I’m looking at you, Jodi!), it’s just great. Also, taking time out of a busy schedule to meet up for lunch and giving me an ARC to share with my friends was the BEST FREAKING BIRTHDAY PRESENT EVER. (Thanks, Jodi!)

10. Being able to read and easily having access to basically all the books I could ever need…. er… want. (: We really take reading and our easy access to books for granted. Think about how it was in the Dark Ages and even up to today. People don’t always have access to education. Girls used to be thought as stupid and useless to educate. There are STILL places in the world that hold this view. For the easiest way to get books, all I have to do is open my computer, pull up the web browser, type in Amazon, and go to town. This isn’t a luxury everyone has. I’m very thankful for a wonderful library and interloan system. I’m thankful I have the ability to buy books every now and then. (My purchase list is ridiculous. I’m always up for gift cards for gifts!) I’m thankful for bloggers, authors, publishers, etc who host giveaways for FREE books. This is a wealth that should be spread with everyone. *steps down from soapbox before I blow up my blog…*

Thanks for dropping by and checking out my TTT post! Do you have a post for today? I’d love to stop by and read it! I hope you all have a great and safe holiday season. (Yes, being PC cause I can’t remember EVERY holiday that occurs in the next six weeks or so)

 

6 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday #19: Things I’m Thankful For”

  1. Kimberly Says:

    I absolutely love your number 1 thing your thankful for. That’s awesome. I totally agree. We all should be thankful for living in a country where we are free to worship Jesus Christ! Not many get that freedom! God Bless You!

    • Maura Says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I love how we have that freedom. (: The full post is up now if you’d like to check out the rest! Sorry you only saw a part of it! God bless you too! (:

  2. Jamie Says:

    Love your list! I am thankful for God’s grace. I’ve been struggling with #1 for a number of years now but at the end of the day I’m just thankful for grace.

    Also totally didn’t realize you and Mary were IRL bffs. Way cool!! Also, I have so much respect for you military families. I don’t know how you do it..when Will is gone for a weekend I’m like WEEE YEAH THIS IS FUN. JAMIE TIME. But then after the night is over I’m like MERP NO FUN. COME BACK. So much respect for y’all. And with that, I’m also thankful for our service men and women who protect us and the families who sacrifice things for them to do that <33

    • Maura Says:

      Thanks! I’ve struggled a lot with it too. A series of awful ministers/youth ministers didn’t help any in HS. Long crazy story for the entire ride haha.

      Yup! We met in college. Both piccolo players in the marching band. (: We’re actually closer friends now than we were in college. Go figure when we’re almost half the country away from each other!

      Thanks for your respect. It definitely isn’t an easy life! We’re just a part time military family too! Hubby’s in the National Guard so he isn’t away weekly as much as active, but they do deploy more frequently. We’ve been lucky and have only had one! It got cut short too. YAY! He was away at a class last week and Monday afternoon (he left that morning) I was like COME HOME NOW THE KIDS ARE TRYING TO MUTINY! He laughed /: He doesn’t appreciate how much terror a 2 1/2 year old and 9 month old can create lol.

  3. Alicia♥ Says:

    I didn’t get a TTT post done in time this week but reading through some of things that people are grateful for puts a smile on my face nonetheless =) It’s kind of therapeutic you know penning down the people/things in life that make every breathing moment a whole lot better. Will have to do this sometime! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Alicia @ Summer Next Top Story

  4. Mary Says:

    Dawwww! *squishy feelings* I love you too! I’m so glad we can stay close and always have lots of good books to share with one another!


Leave a Reply

