The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

If We Were Having Coffee… December 13, 2013

Filed under: Musings — Maura @ 8:00 am

Jamie over on The Perpetual Page Turner posted an If we were having coffee… post a few weeks ago. I’ve been mulling around what I wanted to write about. Here it is. (:

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that this year has been a roller coaster. I gave birth to my second child at the beginning of the year. I now have a boy and a girl. Having one of each is definitely an adventure. I wouldn’t change a single thing though! Terrible twos and first year discoveries are an every day adventure. This parenting thing isn’t easy. I knew that beforehand, it’s just crazy. Definitely not an easy thing to explain.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that this first year of blogging has been a learning experience. I came into this with no expectations so I wouldn’t be disappointed. I knew I wouldn’t get auto approval, have hundreds of followers, or numerous of review requests on the first day, but I also didn’t think I would be doing as well as I am. I’m still learning every day, but it’s a fun learning. I love being able to talk about books all the time. I’m so happy to have “met” lots of different bloggers and authors across the world and instantly have something in common. Now I have auto approval from HarperCollins and I’m beyond ecstatic. Overwhelmed with the numerous books I now have at my fingertips, but ecstatic.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that juggling blogging life and mama life is HARD. I try to do small things while they play together, but I also try to include reading to them in my day. Punk has developed a love of me reading to him from whatever I’m reading. Bug right now loves whatever her big brother loves. Including all house work I have as well, I’m very limited in time that I have for myself. They nap for about two hours, but not always for that long or at the same time. Every single day is a lesson in juggling.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that blogging makes me miss my best friend Mary even more. Every twitter chat, blog post, and email notification drives home the fact that we’re hundreds of miles apart and haven’t seen each other since my toddler was a newborn. Here’s hoping we get some hang time around Christmas! (Please, please, PLEASE Mary’s lovely sister, PLEASE decide to come in for Christmas!!! PLEASE!)

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that I’ve fallen in love with writing again. I intended on winning NaNoWriMo with ease. I was well on track to win until my husband left for a military class in the middle of November and the kiddos decided to mutiny against me. Nap refusal, being clingy, the works. I may not have won NaNo, but I am back on track for revamping the story I set out to tell in 2007. I haven’t been able to work on it since hubby left for the class, but after I get caught up on some blog work, I plan on jumping back in. It may be after Christmas at this rate, but I will get back to writing.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that 2013 has been incredible. There have been ups and downs, but that’s life. I would make the choices all over again. Things may not have been unfolding the way I had been planned, but this is the way things are.

If we were having coffee…I would tell you that I’m thankful for you, dear readers. Thank you for helping me share my love of books. Thank you for listening to my fangirling and ranting. Thank you for the chats on twitter. Thank you for all the new friendships that have been forged in the almost six months since I started blogging. Thank you for helping find my niche.

Tell me, if we were having coffee, what would you say?

 

2 Responses to “If We Were Having Coffee…”

  1. If you were having cofee and I were drinking hot chocolate, I would tell you that I will not be coming to Tennessee for Christmas, but I will most likely be there in February. So keep that chin up!*hugs*


Leave a Reply

