The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

*Review* Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi February 23, 2014

Rating: 5 stars
Pub date: 8 January 2013
Publisher: HarperCollins
Genre: Young Adult Fiction, Dystopian
Format: e-book, library
Status: Book two of Under the Never Sky series

Summary:

It’s been months since Aria learned of her mother’s death.
Months since Perry became Blood Lord of the Tides, and months since Aria last saw him.

Now Aria and Perry are about to be reunited. It’s a moment they’ve been longing for with countless expectations. And it’s a moment that lives up to all of them. At least, at first.

Then it slips away. The Tides don’t take kindly to former Dwellers like Aria. And the tribe is swirling out of Perry’s control. With the Aether storms worsening every day, the only remaining hope for peace and safety is the Still Blue. But does this haven truly exist?

Threatened by false friends and powerful temptations, Aria and Perry wonder, Can their love survive through the ever night?
In this second book in her spellbinding Under the Never Sky trilogy, Veronica Rossi combines fantasy and sci-fi elements to create a captivating adventure-and a love story as perilous as it is unforgettable.

My thoughts:

While I was not completely satisfied with Under the Never Sky, I really enjoyed Through the Ever Night. In a way, I savored Through the Ever Night because it took me longer than normal to read it. It happens when you get so sick your head spins at the thought of reading. Thankfully, that quickly passed and I was able to thoroughly enjoy the book!

As the new leader of the Tides, Perry comes into his own. He was born to lead and finally has his chance to shine. Even though he’s been separated from Aria for months, he shows time and again that he is truly only hers.

After the heart breaking loss of her mother, Aria is even more uncertain of herself than ever. Being half Dweller and half Outsider has left her with a bit of a void in her identity. She doesn’t let it hold her back completely though and she continues to flourish outside of the pods. Though she has escaped the pods, Hess is still controlling her by threatening Perry’s nephew. He promises to keep Talon safe as long as Aria looks for the location of the mysterious Still Blue.

Knowing her presence is causing dissention in the Tides, Aria leaves with Roar in search of Liv and the Still Blue. I really enjoyed watching Aria and Roar’s relationship grow. I think they are a great example of how a guy and a girl can be friends with zero romantic intentions. Though in their world, it would be an appropriate relationship to foster since they share the same gift. Roar is definitely my favourite character in the series. My love for him only grows in Through the Ever Night.

My second favourite character is one we learn more about in Through the Ever Night. I loved Cinder and am so happy we learn more about him. I’m really excited to see how his role in Into the Still Blue plays out.

The certain heart wrenching event near the end was brutal. It also felt a bit unnecessary. That is if things play out like how I think it’ll go. It’d be nice if I’m wrong. I really, really hope I am!

I liked getting to see one of the other tribes. If everything is as harsh as it is in the world, I really wonder why the tribes don’t try to cooperate more. It would make more sense to me, but maybe that’s one of the background details that aren’t completely explained.

One thing I really didn’t like (other than the heart wrenching) was Perry’s jealous. He can scent tempers and feelings, he would’ve instantly known if shenanigans were going on between Roar and Aria. He KNEW before they left that Aria’s feelings were true to him and Roar’s true to Liv. I also didn’t like the reason the seed of doubt was planted. Skanky ho. Everything can’t be perfect and Perry is human and human’s make mistakes!

Again, like with Under the Never Sky, I do recommend this book and series. I can’t wait to continue with my binge read and dive into my eARC of Into the Still Blue.   

About the author:

Veronica Rossi graduated from UCLA and studied fine art at California College of the Arts in San Francisco. She began writing fiction for teens and received first-place awards in Pacific Northwest Writers Association and SouthWest Writers annual contests before completing UNDER THE NEVER SKY. It’s since captivated publishers in more than twenty countries world wide and been optioned for film by Warner Bros. Veronica lives in northern California with her husband and two sons. You can visit her on Facebook or at www.veronicarossi.com

 

Leave a Reply

