The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

*ARC Review* Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi March 3, 2014

Rating: 3 ½ stars
Pub date: 28 January 2014
Publisher: HarperCollins
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Format: eARC via publisher
Status:Book three of Under the Never Sky trilogy

Summary:

The earth-shattering conclusion to Veronica Rossi’s “masterpiece” Under the Never Sky trilogy and sequel to the New York Times bestselling Through the Ever Night (Examiner.com).

 

Their love and their leadership have been tested. Now it’s time for Perry and Aria to unite the Dwellers and the Outsiders in one last desperate attempt to bring balance to their world.

The race to the Still Blue has reached a stalemate. Aria and Perry are determined to find this last safe-haven from the Aether storms before Sable and Hess do-and they are just as determined to stay together.

Meanwhile, time is running out to rescue Cinder, who was abducted by Hess and Sable for his unique abilities. And when Roar returns to camp, he is so furious with Perry that he won’t even look at him, and Perry begins to feel like they have already lost.

Out of options, Perry and Aria assemble a team to mount an impossible rescue mission-because Cinder isn’t just the key to unlocking the Still Blue and their only hope for survival, he’s also their friend. And in a dying world, the bonds between people are what matter most.

In this final book in her stunning Under the Never Sky trilogy, Veronica Rossi raises the stakes to their absolute limit and brings her epic love story to an unforgettable close.

My thoughts:

I have really struggled with this review. It’s not because the book was awful by any means, It just felt lacking for me. The action and danger was there and I enjoyed it. I just felt disconnected in a way. After talking to Mary (Mary Had a Little Book Blog) and reading some other ARC reviews, it seems I am not alone in this.

I enjoyed Perry and Aria’s relationship. I think they go very well together. I liked seeing their relationship blossom from dislike to love. I also was happy to see them take a larger leadership role in their respective worlds. Perry is definitely a natural leader and flourishes in it even though it’s obvious he isn’t sure of himself. I still love Perry’s fierce protective nature over Cinder.

I was disappointed with the lack of Cinder in Into the Still Blue. Though the scences with Cinder struck me the most and were some of my favourites. Veronica broke my heart, stitched it up, and smashed it to smithereens. I love poor Cinder and he’s certainly the only one who continuously reconnected me to the story.

I was most upset with Roar’s development. I mean really upset. I understand that he lost the love of his life, but come on man! The severe douchebaggery was not needed. I went from loving Roar to really wanting to smack him upside the head. Also, his character “development” didn’t help with my lack of connection with Into the Still Blue. I would say it actually caused me to become more apathetic.

By the end, I just didn’t care anymore. Thing were wrapped up and I didn’t feel like there should’ve been more to follow, I just felt that the final leg of the journey was lacking. As much as I loved Through the Ever Night and liked Under the Never Sky, I really don’t know if I’ll come back to this one again. Maybe only to see how things wrap up again. Or maybe time away from this series and the hype will help. I do believe Into the Still Blue suffered from over hype for me. I had heard so many things about how great the finale was going to be and I got so excited that I think it just didn’t live up to my expectations somehow. This is definitely one of those I can’t make sense of it things. Into the Still Blue just wasn’t for me. As a whole, I recommend this series, because it is really great and imaginative. I CANNOT recommend this on its own other than you have to see how things come together in the end.

About the author

Veronica Rossi graduated from UCLA and studied fine art at California College of the Arts in San Francisco. She began writing fiction for teens and received first-place awards in Pacific Northwest Writers Association and SouthWest Writers annual contests before completing UNDER THE NEVER SKY. It’s since captivated publishers in more than twenty countries world wide and been optioned for film by Warner Bros. Veronica lives in northern California with her husband and two sons. You can visit her on Facebook or at www.veronicarossi.com

 

Leave a Reply

