The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

*Review* Allegiant by Veronica Roth April 14, 2014

Rating:3 stars
Pub date:22 October 2013
Publisher:HarperCollins, Katherine Tegen Books
Genre:Young Adult Fiction, Dystopian, Post-Apocalyptic
Format:e-book, audiobook, borrowed via library
Status:Book three of the Divergent trilogy

Summary:

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

Told from a riveting dual perspective, Allegiant, by #1 New York Times best-selling author Veronica Roth, brings the Divergent series to a powerful conclusion while revealing the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent.

My thoughts:

This has been one of the hardest reviews to write and not for a good reason. Allegiant was very disappointing for me. If I hadn’t loved Divergent and Insurgent, I would’ve rated it lower. Not sure if I’ll re-read. I definitely won’t buy the whole series. I really thought about ordering 1&2, but what’s the point of owning them without 3? Ugh. After such great character development in Divergent and Insurgent, it really tanks in Allegiant. It seems like the new secondary characters weren’t developed fully and didn’t do much for me while good and old secondary characters were ignored and dropped. No one is safe either. Terrible things happen to everyone. Just when you think things are starting to look up, it all goes to hell again. That really felt like the main theme of the book. Not sure what the main theme was supposed to be, but to me that’s what it came across as. 

I feel like the genetics was dumbed down. I can’t explain how, exactly, I just was disappointed with it. It felt like she was trying to move Jew vs non-Jew to post-apocalyptic/war torn/futuristic/dystopian time frame. It felt so forced. Everything did, really. 

I like Four, I really do. I cannot stand reading from his POV and suddenly throwing it in felt forced and awkward. I did not like the transitioning between Four and Tris. Speaking of not liking things between Four and Tris; the fighting. Oh, the fighting. It was so freaking annoying. Really, really, REALLY annoying. There were times when I just wanted to stop reading because it was killing me.

It really felt like Allegiant was rushed and it wasn’t as well written or edited as Divergent or Insurgent. It’s like Veronica didn’t really know where she wanted to go with the story other than that killer twist at the ending. Overall it wasn’t what I was expecting. After the action building and building, I was expecting something spectacular to happen in Allegiant, and to me, the action just felt severely lacking. For such a long book, I feel like not much really happened.  I didn’t think Allegiant was great, but it also wasn’t completely terrible.

To be honest, I didn’t cry over the death. I was disappointed with it and thought it was rather useless. Especially after going through such lengths to show the struggle between the two characters and then suddenly sacrificing to save him/her? No. Just. No. From the death to the end I was so bored and wanted to stop reading. What was the point of bailing at that point though? So close to the end I might as well finish. I’m very curious about the fan fiction alternate endings now. I haven’t read fan fiction in years and I really want to just to see other endings. Have I mentioned that everything felt forced? Because it did. The entire story, the “sacrifice” death, the ending, etc. I honestly cannot recommend Allegiant. Not in any way. I would be completely okay with this trilogy being a duology. Yeah, it would’ve been a major cliffhanger full of what ifs, but I would’ve liked that better than how it really ended. Read Divergent and Insurgent, but skip Allegiant. Unless you like writing that tanks in the end. Then totally go for it.

 

Sorry to those who saw the incomplete review of this. I had it all typed up but apparently WordPress decided my full review didn’t need to be saved/posted.

 

 


About the author

Veronica Roth is from a Chicago suburb. She studied creative writing at Northwestern University, and wrote DIVERGENT (Katherine Tegen Books, May 2011) and INSURGENT (May 2012). The third and final book in The Divergent Trilogy, ALLEGIANT, will come out on October 22, 2013. In the meantime she will spend endless hours browsing Wikipedia in her pajamas as she eats corn flakes. (Or some other kind of bland breakfast cereal.)

 

One Response to “*Review* Allegiant by Veronica Roth”

  1. […] Allegiant by Veronica Roth. I wish I hadn’t even read this one, but I did. Ugh.  […]


Leave a Reply

