The Whimsical Mama

<3 Such is the life of a stay at home mommy and Army wife (:

Weekly Reading Review #5 August 10, 2013

4 – 10 August 2013

A better reading week this week! True enough, some of the extra reading has been due to rainy weather. No playing outside this week. Hopefully this coming week will change! I’m almost done with organising the school area in our office. I’m planning for next weekend to be done with setting everything up. Depends on how the weather is!

Completed:
Scarlet by Marissa Meyer 4/5 stars. The kids had me too distracted through the end to really enjoy the ending so that hurt my feelings over the end. I’m sure it’ll rise to a 5 after an eventual reread.
What Really Happened in Peru by Cassandra Clare 4 stars. Thanks to PulseIt, I got to read this for free! Money can be tight with two kids, plus I want the whole set if they release it as a physical book.
Reached by Ally Condie 4/5 stars. After taking a step back from this series, I read through it much quicker. It still wasn’t as exciting as Matched, but it was better than Crossed .

Read to the kiddos:
Little Rabbit Waits for the Moon by Beth Shoshan 4 stars. My little girl loved this book from her Auntie Mary. She cooed and tried to get the bunny through the whole book.
Ladybug Girl Dresses Up by David Soman 3 stars
Road Work Ahead by Anastasia Suen 3 stars (Punk’s Dolly Book) He loved this! He’s very into “dump tucks” at the moment and loves to point them out wherever we go.
Papa, Please Get the Moon for Me by Eric Carle 4 stars. I thought this was a sweet book. Especially since Punk is in a phase of asking if the stars and moon can come in at night.
Big Boys Use the Potty Andrea Pinnington. 3 stars
LEGO City: Build this City by Scholastic Inc. 3 stars

Currently Reading:
A Million Suns by Beth Revis (should finish it tonight!)
Pretty Dark Nothing by Heather L Reid (will start as soon as I finish AMS)

New to my shelf:
Quite a few DRCs, look for reviews to start soon!

What did you read this week? Anything good? I’m always looking for recs! Give me a shout on Twitter: armywife2310